Why I’m mad at Mint.

Standard

I love Mint.  Love it.  That is the mint that is mint.com.  Mint has got to be the slickest, coolest thing to ever happen to your checking account. Mint is full of pretty green graphics, compelling charts, and numbers that add themselves, and I love it love it love it.

I signed up for Mint in October of last year.  It took two months for my bank to work with Mint, but once it did, I was hooked. Suddenly I knew the obscene amount of money I was spending on take-out and diapers,  (okay that’s a gross pairing).  I knew how much I had to set aside to not blow a Christmas budget, and I knew that there might be better deals out there for a credit card.  See – that’s how Mint is free.  While you manage your money, they show you different credit card or bank offers, or what might be better deals at other brokerage houses.  So while there is not an out of pocket expense for the user, rest assured, Mint, is making money off of every login.

Now don’t get me wrong, I was a happy user, a grateful user, all was in order with my bank account, I hadn’t paid a late bill in months, and I had even snagged one of the credit card deals they offered me – saving myself a couple hundred last year in interest payments.

It was a budgetary match made in heaven.  For nine months I felt secure in my financial planning, I even managed to put enough aside to help me through my year long maternity leave. And yes, I could have done the same with a spreadsheet or even Quicken online.  But neither of those options offered the happiness I got night after night happily categorizing my expenses, and watching my savings account grow.  Yes, I’m serious. Yes I’m that much of a Nerd!

So, fast-forward to Citizens Bank’s planned upgrade mid August.  This fateful sprucing up of my long time banks online presence angered the Mint gods, or at least their data servers.  No longer does Mint track the money coming and going from the account I use most of all. I’ve been weening myself from plastic for ten years now, if Mint can’t connect to my checking account, Mint is one hundred percent useless to me.   But, that day, I took  a deep breath, and hoped the problem would correct itself within hours, and on the outside chance, days.

But now, we’re going on months. Now it’s been 62 days.  For 62 days the company that recently got bought for 170 million dollars by Intuit, has not been able to connect to my bank.  For 62 days, the site that can exist, because users like me, click on the credit card offers, or check out the new bank or brokerage house, has failed to work.

So, yes, I’m using Twitter to complain.  And yes, Mint has responded to me on Twitter,  and has apologized for the problem repeatedly – but 62 days later – that problem still exists.   Let’s imagine this in any other context.  Like say Gmail – can you imagine if for 62 days your GMail stopped working, or maybe just a piece of it.  Perhaps,  for 62 days, you would have  no access to your Google reader, or your Google docs?  I mean those are all free products (free products that generate millions off of users in ad revenue), do I deserve customer satisfaction?  Even in the shiny brand new days of Google Mail, it didn’t have Mint’s kind of connectivity issues.   Because, it’s unacceptable.  Especially for a product that was bought for 170 million dollars.

So while Mint continues to promise to keep looking into the problem, and testing new solutions, I promise to keep Tweeting. Every day. Every day-till the problem’s fixed.

And when it is fixed, I will Tweet that too, and then return to my happy categorization of EZ pass transactions and day care expenses.  I want to love again.

3 responses »

  1. Hi, I’m a Mint user too.

    Good for you for making sure this stays on their radar. This might not be Mint’s fault though. Financial institutions sometimes make it difficult for Mint to connect to them. You may want to try to contact Citizen’s bank and let them know that you want them to work well with Mint.

  2. Pingback: Something I’ve been meaning to do all week « Happy Valley Mama

  3. Pingback: Thirty Days of Lists – Day Two « Happy Valley Mama

Leave a Reply

