mememe and haiku

Standard

There’s a mememe going around Facebook tonight, and I thought I might just play along…  I’m doing it here — not in my notes on Facebook because, well my post count is decidedly low these days.

So apparently,  don’t take too long to think about it. Fifteen authors who’ve influenced you and that will always stick with you. List the first fifteen you can recall in no more than fifteen minutes.

ready – go –

  1. F. Scott Fitzgerald
  2. Kurt Vonnegut
  3. Sylvia Plath
  4. Madeline L’engle
  5. Barbara Kingsolver
  6. Bill Shakespeare
  7. Harper Lee
  8. Ken Kesey
  9. John Irving
  10. Roddy Doyle
  11. Alice Walker
  12. Henry David Thoreau
  13. Ralph Waldo Emerson
  14. Mark Twain (even if Irving said he didn’t like him).
  15. Frank O’Hara

That’s a pretty sweet list- that takes me from Elementary school to modern day, and all those authors showed up at different stages of my learning and teaching. To be honest, I rambled off the first thirteen in three minutes and the last two took another  four or five on their own.

As promised, Haiku

Ode to a pinched nerve in my neck-

I think the world needs
to lay off me, when I have
shit that must be done.

Leave a Reply

