Yes Farms, Yes Food.

Standard

image

This is today’s haul from three of the farm stands in my neighborhood.
1 eggplant
2 yellow squash
2 zucchini
6 cucumbers
1 pint of cherry tomatoes
1 huge bunch of basil
14 ears of corn.
Want to guess on the price? Or consider the grocery store equivalent?

Updated to say – I did the math.  So this stash of veg that would cost you $18.76 if bought through peapod (I didn’t add in delivery), cost me just $13.00.  Corn was the only thing that costs more at the farm-stand. Basil was a considerable savings by over half.  But since it’s the best corn on the planet, I’m okay with that.  In addition, all of this food was bought within a mile of my house, making it’s carbon footprint tiny.

Want to check my math, take a look at the quick spreadsheet I did up.

Leave a Reply

