The Miserable Electric Companies

Standard

This was posted to FB earlier tonight.

Has CL&P fixed my f’in power yet. 

Here in the Valley, we’ve had a tough week.  But in Connecticut, they’ve had a miserable week. Just awful.  63% of my home town is still without power. Seven days later — that’s insane. I know this is the worst loss of power Connecticut has seen since Hurricane Gloria in 1985, but good lord, seven days, and more than half of your customers still don’t have service. Come. ON! And while there are really good folks out there working their asses off for their neighbors,  the people who have the power to do the most seem to be doing the least.

Thoughts? Am I being too tough on the electric companies.  I know here in Mass. folks have their own complaints about WEMCO, but there just doesn’t seem to be the same outcry here as there is in our neighbor to the south.

Not for nothing, but I really think CL&P, with all apologies to our furry friends, screwed the pooch on this one.

Update: I wanted to include a few more links about what I’m talking about in terms of CL&P not doing what they should be doing –

CL&P Union Leaders: Staffing Too Low, Executive Pay Too High

Meteorologists Dispute Forecast Claims

 

 

 

 

2 responses »

  1. My sister lives in Redding, near Danbury, and she’s had no power since the storm. The kids have been out of school a week already. I find it hilarious that she had to seek refuge in Albany, of all places. Though I do have to say, for all the storms Albany has seen, I don’t really remember any massive, widespread, long-term power outages ever. I don’t know if it’s the lay of the land or the infrastructure or what.

  2. I always wonder why electric companies in the North East haven’t invested more money in putting wires underground.

Leave a Reply

