Pushing a shopping cart on Route 9 – in morning- rushhour traffic- for a good cause.

Standard

Outside of the work I do for MotherWoman, the Western Mass Food bank is my favorite, local non-profit.  I think that regardless of one’s position in life, no one should ever go hungry. Unfortunately,  according to the Western Mass Food Bank, 20 percent of households with children in Massachusetts (1 in 5) said they were unable to afford enough food. The food hardship rate for households without children was 14.4 percent. It was with that in mind that I volunteered to walk for an hour Thursday morning with Monte Belmonte of WRSI to raise money and awareness for the Food Bank. Yes, yes, I will be shopping a souped up shopping cart on Rt. 9 – Yes, yes  you should honk your horn and wave wildly as you pass me by on the way to school. 

My goal is to raise $200 by Thursday afternoon.  If you can help in any way, that would be greatly appreciated.  I will be collecting donations tonight and tomorrow.  If you would like to send the funds electronically, drop me a line.  

For more information please check out Monte’s page on the walk here or the Food Bank Site here

Thank you in advance for any help you can provide.
Leave a Reply

