Accountability

Standard

So I made a summer to-do list – and I’ve been working on it. And ten days in, I feel like I’m doing pretty good. I also know, that with this summer game, it is entirely too easy to fall off course, so for only my own edification, I’m going to spend one day a week going over the shite I have planned.

Summer To-Do
last update – June 22nd

  • Write every day.  Then blog it.Done. Done. Done. 
  • Get exercise three days a week. Eh. Once – Hiking – hiking a whole bunch of miles, but still – need to be more regular about this. This week I am committing to take at least one yoga class, and go for at least one walk.
  • Shop the farmer’s market at least once a week. – Didn’t make it this week – did though hit one of the many farm-stand in the area last Friday.
  • Work on organizing the kitchen and menu things, so things run smoother come September. Focus on creating some meals that are meatless. Buy this book, and start stocking pantry. Book came Monday.  It is adorable. And has what I love most about a good cookbook, really good writing tucked in-between recipes.
  • Put up one local item from either the farmer’s market or local farm stand once a week. Hoping to score a couple of late strawberries and put up some strawberry rhubarb jam in the next couple of days.
  • Plan at least one adventure a week with the boys – Today we went to check out Kai’s summer camp, and spent a good amount of time swimming in the lake. And by swimming, I mean Keegan ran straight into the water over his head, and looked pretty shocked at the results.
  • Do at least one spoken word open mic – Found one, all poetry, open mic to scout out. It is of course in Pittsfield.  Starting a writing class next week, hoping to get more leads on this one- anyone, anyone, Bueller?
  • Maybe build up enough of a set list to do this fest – Thinking I might be going straight for the Haiku battle on this one.
  • Breathe – Some days better than others.  Yoga will help with this.
  • Cut myself some slack – Oh come on. who are we kidding.  To steal a line from my very favorite, new show, as written by the most fabulous Lena Dunham – “No one could ever hate me as much as I hate myself. OK? So any mean thing that someone’s gonna think of to say about me I’ve already said to me, about me- probably in the last half-hour.”

But really, I’m giving myself, a not so shabby on summer so far.

3 responses »

  1. I want the same book! I’m glad you recommend it. Impressive summer list. I’m just hoping to survive my move.

  2. Aw, but the difference between you and me my friend – full time child care. It is the only thing that lets me have such a list.

  3. Pingback: Sunday List « Happy Valley Mama

Leave a Reply

