The Good Stuff – And the Old Stuff.

Standard

So, I spend a  fair amount of time in the social media sphere – and this week, I spent three nights in bed with my laptop on one side, my phone in the other, and the DNC on till almost midnight.  But I also read about football, and Hunger Action Month, and I did a happy dance when I saw a new poem from one of my favorites.  So that’s all here, along with some music. If you’ve come here for my old crap, scroll to the bottom for all of that.

Good stuff I’ve found this week-

First Sunday of  regular season football – and a nice little article about who to stash on your fantasy football bench till mid season

Speaking of football – you must read this – The Viking’s Chris Kluwe defending The Raven’s Brendon Ayanbadejo for standing up in support  same-sex marriage – This shit is brilliant.

Billy Collins has a new poem out in Poetry Magazine.  Swoon.

Ten really bad movies on Mental_Floss

Terrifying fair foods from HuffPo (I have horrifying Friday with my kids at school where I show them weird things from the inter-webs for five mins at the end of class. I watched the fried butter video in this piece with each class, and each time I felt ill for another hour after. You’ve been warned).

Conversely, it’s Hunger Action Month – and one of my two favorite local charities, The Western Mass Food Bank has a calendar for September of things you can do to help the food insecure in your area.

The music I can’t stop listening to-

The one that makes me cry – every.time. Even though I say it won’t, and then it does. But I’ve listened to it eighty-seven times this week anyhoo –


The one that makes me smile every time – so I listen to it right after Florence makes me sob. I haven’t stopped listening to this for two weeks straight. Insanely good.

Best blurbs of the week-

This time last year on Happy Valley Mama –

Sunset in the Valley Haiku

No Limits

Friday Afternoon Haiku

Two years ago –

Guest Blogger

restless

Things I’ll Make Today

The ants and the grasshopper.

Leave a Reply

