between the bars.

Standard

People you’ve been before,
That you don’t want around anymore,
That push and shove and won’t bend to your will,
I’ll keep them still
-Eliot Smith, Between the Bars

It’s the little things that get me,
the tiny things that make me hold my breath.
It is the context that nobody sees but me,
that knocks me on my ass.

It’s the lyrics, that I could speak in,
the signs I ask for,
the magical thinking I’ve grown accustomed to,
it’s the musing I do on the page.

It’s the half-done sentences,
the unfinished thoughts,
dwelling in places where no one finishes them,
waiting for somebody to seek them out.

Leave a Reply

