I interrupt your regularly scheduled good-will, with Moral Fucking Outrage

Standard

I’ve seen your posts this weekend people.  I’ve seen that picture. And I have held my tongue.  The “Your God isn’t Allowed in Schools” picture.  The one that seems to want to say that if God was still allowed in schools then shootings like this would not happen.

And all I’ve wanted to say was fuck you.  Fuck you and your self-righteousness.

God is not an an institution. Religion is, and that, my friends, is what The Founders worked so hard to keep separate from the institution of The State.

Because people, the Westboro Baptist Church is also a Religion – and I’m sorry, would you like me to allow them and their brand of hate  into my classroom?

No?

I didn’t fucking think so.

We keep religion separate from our schools, so no one religion is given preference over another.  How short our memories are.  How quickly we forget how when The Church ran The State – In New England, people were executed for being suspected of witchcraft while Quakers were punished and banished to the wilderness for their differing beliefs. In Virginia, Baptists were assaulted in ways I just don’t want to discuss,  because they were, of all things, the same religion that Fred Phelps and his band of deviants purport to be.

And I assure you, that while I do not preach the Gospel according to Luke in my classroom, ethics are taught, morals are modeled. Kindness, and inspiration, and social justice, and joy are my text, love of learning is my Gospel.

I believe in God. Tentatively. But people, if you want to tell me that God allowed this thing to happen in Sandy Hook, because he or she is dismayed that we have allowed our schools to respect and tolerate the discussion and exploration of a multiplicity of  beliefs in the halls and classrooms – as opposed to sticking to one dogmatic text, I say again, fuck you.

You can take that god, that would allow for the slaughter of innocents, the slaughter of teachers who protected those innocents,  the anguish of families who lost those children – and you can tell that god, that he has lost one more believer.

If instead you believe that this world is complicated. That we should be granted the right to question our beliefs at times like these. If you, like me, believe, that for this minute, you would like not to jump to conclusions on who or-what is to blame- but would prefer to instead hold each of those affected in your hearts – and grieve for this world we live in –

Then let’s keep talking.

Other writing on Sandy Hook
heavy-hearted lines
Extending Condolences

2 responses »

  1. Sick, Sick, Sick!! Anyone who could say this in the face of tragedy has NO idea who God is. It is a sick perversion of so called “religion” and salt in the wound of parents experiencing the worst kind of grief. The truth is that God is close to the brokenhearted. He too weeps over the devastating effects of sin– although he gives us the choice whether to walk in sin or whether to walk with him. There is sin in the world, and it affects us all. That’s why we all need a saviour. That’s why Jesus came. I follow Jesus. It is about a relationship with the Prince of Peace, not about rules and following some “religion.” When Jesus was on earth, he was full of compassion for those who needed him and full of harsh rebuke for hypocrites who used “religion” as a cover for evil attitudes. That has not changed. Those who use religion as a chance to be judgmental and uncompassionate will face judgment. My heart breaks for the parents who have lost a child. I can’t imagine their grief, and I want to apologize for the actions of those who claim to follow God and yet who don’t act as He acts. That is NOT true Christianity. Don’t let their sin hinder you from finding help in the One who longs to save and comfort us all.

  2. I appreciate your perspective. Too often the idea of perfect love that Jesus preached is far removed from dogmatic discussions.

Leave a Reply

