in search of muse.

Standard

I don’t know if I have a hundred words tonight-
maybe just a poem about writer’s block.
oh wait, I already wrote that-
Maybe I could tell you about spring-
but certainly there is a post like that hanging around somewhere
Perhaps I could post a picture of my kiddo – 
or tell you why I love teaching –
Man, am I out of ideas.
I’m feeling faintly ambivalent to the political
and too overwhelmed with the state of the Big East
to really talk about sports.

Dear muse, where have you run off to.
Would you mind, a return trip – stop by my bed tonight
breathe some inspiration in my half sleeping parted lips-
let the words that I wake with tomorrow –
be better than what I have tried to rake out tonight.

Leave a Reply

