devastatingly lovely

Standard

I live in Massachusetts in the Connecticut River Valley.  Word is our dirt, it’s good.   So good, we produce the best asparagus in the world – asparagus so bountiful, one of the teachers at the school I teach at, brings it in bagged up and ready for sale to our staff. You know you live in a small town when you can pick up  your dinner veggies on your coffee break at lunch.

The landscape around here will take your breath away. That is, if you’re given to that sort of thing. You know, the rolling hills on the edge of the valley, and the tree-lined river, and the fields, ready to be plowed in March.  Even the land getting ready for winter, the trees shedding their leaves, it is all devastatingly beautiful.

This week to celebrate this place and this land I’m participating in Loving Local’s blog-a-thon to mark Farmer’s Market Week.  Every day this week I’m going to talk about a different farmer’s market in the area.  I’m going to visit two I’ve never been to before, and talk about three of my old favorites.  On top of that, I’m going to tell you where to get the best corn in Western Mass as I explore the farm stands near my house.  It will be a busy week of food exploration, but I’m looking forward to sharing a little bit of this Valley I call home.

If you have a moment and some spare change this week, please think about donating to Loving Local

If you have several moments please stop by Our Grandmother’s Kitchens to see all the posts from folks participating in the blog-a-thon

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: The Blogathon Begins! « Loving Local

  2. Pingback: Day Two | In Our Grandmothers' Kitchens

  3. Pingback: Something I’ve been meaning to do all week « Happy Valley Mama

Leave a comment