Eat the view

Standard

One of my favorite farmer’s markets is in Northampton, MA.  It lives on a sloping street in the center of town on Saturdays. This past weekend I snapped a few photos before my battery died. Ugh – blog-a-thon fail.  After the camera died I just started chatting up folks,  folks who were selling native plants, and local grains  –  farmer’s selling goat’s cheese and pickles in big ol’ mason jars. And you can learn so much if you just stop to chat.  I learned hydrangeas will grow in the shade, and that thyme can get a little woody. I learned that parsley needs to be cut back all the time, and that marigolds make a lovely addition to an herb bouquet.  

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you have a moment and some spare change this week, please think about donating to Loving Local
If you have several moments please stop by Our Grandmother’s Kitchens to see all the posts from folks participating in the blog-a-thon

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: The Blogathon Continues! « Loving Local

  2. Pingback: Day Three (Tuesday) | In Our Grandmothers' Kitchens

  3. we checked out this farmer’s market a few weekends ago. unfortunately, i had hubby & kids in tow, so i couldn’t dawdle. i mean to go back again and enjoy it properly!

  4. Pingback: Something I’ve been meaning to do all week « Happy Valley Mama

Leave a comment